• OK, I can no longer ignore this. For the last three scenes spanning two days, “The Blackthorns will be here tomorrow.” WTHECK. It’s just sloppy and confusing.
  • WAIT. WHO ARE EMMA’S PARENTS IF NOT JEM AND TESSA. I literally spent my whole waiting life for this book (which happens to be like 8 years) thinking Jem and Tessa had a child (which of course doesn’t make sense bc she’s a Warlock—Also side note, I’m glad she’s doing well and was able to put a label on what she is bc I know that tormented her in TID).
  • Man, that scene on the beach with Emma and Julian talking about (kind of their feelings?) was cryptic af.
  • Also, hearing all the same names from TMI in TID felt like nostalgia. Now it just feels like a heck load of inbreeding and I’m worried af for all of them except Mark and Helen.
  • FINALLY action. I though that was what they did, fight demons and I hadn’t seen any of it for so long. Which is weird to me because TID and TMI both pretty much opened with action.
  • Wait, Julian is using his finger to draw on an iratze. Don’t they need steeles or something for that?
  • Well after that very… intimate healing procedure I have one questions, How does the clave know when parabatai are in love? Do they hold regular interviews, do they watch people? What if a parabatai decides to be friends with benefits? THEN WHAT?
  • Also how can Emma think about the fact she’s in Julian’s lap when he’s literally, and I mean LITERALLY bleeding to death?
  • JULIAN, WHY DID CC HAVE TO DO THIS TO HIM? Like that scene in the kitchen completely broke my heart with all his siblings and Tavvy in the sugar.
  • Also, why is Emma bloody going to The Convergence without ANYONE else???
  • Is perfect Diego outside the kitchen watching Cristina and Mark then? Or wait, acorn, so Kieran?
  • How did a half fae NOT hear the acorn snap? Isn’t that supposed to be a perk of being fae heightened senses and all of that.
  • WHY would you think it’s a good idea to pull a lever when you have NO IDEA WHAT IT DOES. EMMMMMMMMMMMA. Like I love her, but sometimes she’s not the sharpest tool in the box.
  • Also why does Emma think the messing of The Convergence wouldn’t be important enough to wake up Diana? Like aren’t they all supposed to be working together and that means acting like a team, which btw Emma isn’t very good at unless it concerns Julian.
  • I’m very suspicious of Diana. How did she not get the message? Unless she set it up so SHE WOULDN’T.
  • OK, perfect Diego is the roof-runner, Sterling’s hands were cut off by Belinda and and Julian running the institute and everything but why aren’t parabatai able to be together??
  • I’d be interested to know when Mark started identifying as fae, when he so adamantly insisted he was a Shadowhunter on the hunt and with Keiran.
  • I’ve always been curious as to why parabati couldn’t have romantic feelings towards each other because I feel like that would make a lot of sense.
  • Man, if I could find a dress or whatever after only trying on one thing like Emma and Cristina I would be more likely to shop more.
  • Reading Julian and Emma dancing at The Lottery was like watching a building burn.
  • Diego has a point about tutors betraying Institutes. I KNEW that happened in another book. It seemed so familiar.
  • Wow, the scene at the whipping was a little too much for me. Like everything happened really fast and also Emma is very crazy for thinking it was OK for her to receive the whipping but not Julian.
  • Everyone needs to calm down. And by everyone I mean Emma and Julian and their physical advancements. Like can you imagine if Livvy had actually opened the door anyway, even though she knows it’s his private space?
  • Well, I did not expect Malcom. Like at all. I thought it would be someone random, or it would be Diana. I actually was expecting her, but that wouldn’t be good writing would it.
  • OK, Emma, with the hand of glory, is going to sacrifice herself so none of the Blackthorns have to die and she’s going to succeed on the parabatai oaths word because isn’t there something about “my blood will be thy’s?
    • (Update, when I wrote this I couldn’t remember/find the exact oath in the book and I checked on the Internet and there’s nothing about blood :/ RIP my prediction)
  • I thought we were going to get the answer to the parabatai question? But Malcom didn’t say anything about it? At this point, IDEC about any other answers for the characters, I’ve been waiting for this information since 2008.
  • Couldn’t Emma have made sure Malcom was like, you know, factually dead before deciding to push him out to sea? Also retrieving the Black Book or something like that?
  • I’m very… surprised everything with “The Clave” (if by “The Clave” you mean Clary, Jace, Mangus and The Inquisitor) worked out ~alright~ I mean it just seemed a little too perfect. Shouldn’t we be calling Julian “Perfect Julian” in addition to Perfect Diego? I feel like the term in all it’s mocking glory applies to both of them.
  • Also, Robert Lightwood has enough experience with an Inquisitor dick, couldn’t he like, be less of one now he’s an Inquisitor too?
  • Also, the very last, tiny section of the book is the ONLY time we’re privy to reading about the perfection that is Tessa Gray and James Carstairs? WHY.
  • Wait, Tessa and Jace share the same blood? I mean I understand the need to marry a Shadowhunter and everything, but… How specifically are they related?
  • Also, finding out why parabati are forbidden was VERY anti-climatic.
  • Also, I knew in the back of my mind she was going to use Mark like this. Why does this have to happen.
  • My final comment: Mark turns around to close the door and my thought is, “This whole conversation is so exclusive NO ONE else but you two know and YOU DIDN’T EVEN HAVE THE DOOR CLOSED???”
  • Okay, actual final comment here before the rating, “Why lie?” What a glorious/haunting last line. YES. It’s perfect, I love it.
  • 7/10-Been waiting for this, like I’ve said above twice, for literally ever. It was good, I recognize Clare’s writing style which I enjoy for entertainment reads and it was just fun to read and stuff. I don’t think the inclusion of runes and Shadowhunter culture was as… polished in this book as in TMI. I also found quite a few copy/content edit mistakes in here. I’m not sure how they slipped through, but overall it was pretty good. I did have to dock it a few points on those grounds though, it confused me a bit.
