• Well I have to thank Griffin Teen for sending me this ARC. I was completely surprised when it showed up in my mailbox. I didn’t even know it was coming.
  • I love McLemore is playing with this idea of passing on stories and how much is left out when we tell them.
  • Wait, it’s the last time man goes in my choice? Does he have to go back in by force? How?
  • Well it’s definitely a romance after Sam and Meil’s night together. Jeez.
  • The summary says the Bonner sisters are rumored to be witches, when in the book it’s Miel and Aracely who are being accused of witches. I have a bone to pick with the summary writers.
  • Mixed race couple YES.
  • Alright, I’m trying to place the setting of the book, like its a fantasy, but sometimes it seems realistic enough it isn’t? but it just has such a ring of truth to it.
  • I LOVE how subtle this writing is. Like when describing Chloe’s past. This is showing not telling and it’s exquisite.
  • OK, I’m really confused about the ethnicity of our characters because Sam says their blood came from the same part of the world, but he’s Pakistani and now Miel it seems like Miel is from a part of the world that speaks Spanish?
  • Another plug about the writing because yes it deserves it.
  • Sam is really upset at Miel for not telling him everything about herself, but maybe he wouldn’t mind as much if he knew she didn’t even know everything.
  • OK, Sam is kind of a low life to believe Miel would be friends with the Bonner sisters when they’ve constantly been manipulative and terrible to the people at school.
  • I also don’t necessarily believe you need to know all the secrets about someone to love them.
  • HOW CAN SAM DO THIS. Taking the lovesickness away?? NOOO.
  • Another plug for the writing.
  • HOLY WHAT? The Bonner Sisters locked her in a coffin? That’s h*lla messed up.
  • Miel is person goals honestly. Like she’s still dealing with her own trauma and accepting who she is but she unashamedly and fiercely protects and accepts anyone who decides they want to live outside the society’s norms.
  • OK, so I know this post is really short for reasons I’m about to list below. Sometimes there are some books and they’re so captivating I forget to write things down, or I don’t know what to say about them. This is one of them. In lieu of what I usually do, I’m going to talk about a couple things I love in particular about this book:
  • The diversity: YES. I loved how McLemore created characters of all backgrounds and sexualities into this book. I
  • The Plot: At least for me, the plot was a little disjointed. I didn’t feel like the Bonner sisters truly were the villain in this book, and it’s fine if they weren’t mean to be. I had a harder time following the plot. I didn’t always understand what was going on, but the writing more than made up for that.
  • The writing: It alone sells this book. It’s a beauty and fluidity reminiscent of The Night Circus. I honestly haven’t thought of any writing as lovely and delicate similar to The Night Circus until this book. It was throughly satisfying to read and it was a book you could take and truly just relax and enjoy a story about people trying to find their way in the world and be kind and make good decisions. I mostly delighted in the parts of the book (well like 80 percent) told in third person, like a narrative. I think McLemore’s writing excels in this voice.
  • 6/10 for all the reasons above!
