Hello all! I’m going to be starting something kind of new here for a bit! Maggie from The Novel Orange, Alexandra from Literary Legionnaire and Em from Piplup’s Shadow are teaming up for this special inter-blog special! Here we’ve selected a group of characters and worlds and we’ll be discussing which characters would thrive or disintegrate in each of our different worlds.

The Worlds:

  • Maggie: Oz (Dorothy Must Die)
  • Alexandra: Gallagher Academy
  • Em: Illuminae
  • Me: Arena from Catching Fire

The Characters:

  • Ron Weasley (Harry Potter)
  • Kell (A Darker Shade of Magic)
  • Rhysand (A Court of Thorns and Roses/Mist and Fury)
  • Kaorou (Daughter of Smoke and Bone)
  • Adelina (The Young Elites)
  • Charlotte Holmes (A Study in Charlotte)
  • Annabeth (Percy Jackson Series)
  • Mangus Chase (The Sword of Summer)

My world: 2nd Arena from Hunger Games

Contestants for round 1: Kell from A Darker Shade of Magic and Ron Weasley

Well I have to admit, I’m nervous for Ron going into the arena. I have a feeling he would stare at the cornucopia for a couple minutes, and then kick into gear after that. He would have to swim, which I’m sure he can do? But I’m not really sure. He grew up in a rural place, so I’m sure he does. So he lives to survive to the beach, but even without the tasks, I’m not sure he would survive with the basic human needs like for example eating. I’m actually really worried about Ron. But he still has his magic, so that’s definitely a plus. It seems a little unfair Ron has the Killing Curse; it’s kind of like an ex machina thing at this point. So I think Ron would at least make it to the final like, 10 or something.

Kell would look for food. He doesn’t need anything to keep him warm because he can create fire and control it. I don’t know if Kell knows how to swim either, but we have to believe that with all the training he goes through he at least taught himself the basics of swimming. I also worry about Kell being able to go without food if he can’t find anything. Because he’s always had all his basic human needs met similar to Ron. I think fighting will be the easiest thing for Kell because he has control of all the elements. He also could go around making doors to different parts of the arena, so if he’s ambushed he could make a quick escape. I would bet my first cat he would make it to the top 5 if he was working alone.

I actually think Ron and Kell would be impressive if they teamed up. They both have access to magic so you don’t have to worry about them freezing. Obviously they both have an advantage because they both have magic. Physically, if the two were the last ones, I think Kell wouldn’t win because Ron has the Killing Curse. But if Kell were able to break or take away Ron’s wand, he would probably win, even without being able to control the elements. He has more hand-to-hand combat than Ron does. Without Ron he’s like anyone from the poorer factions. I think if it came down to it, Kell would come out on top, but not by much. I kind of wish I could pull like a Katniss/Peeta thing where Kell and Ron would be able to both survive, but alas.

But what do you guys think? Would Ron’s magic help him edge ahead of Kell, or would Kell’s experience be the nail in the coffin? Let me know in the comments below and be sure to check out the other posts from Team Sky Blue set in the various worlds! (I’ll be adding the posts tomorrow as they go up!

Round one: Oz | Illuminae | Gallagher Academy

