• I love how relatable Nyx is right from the start. I would be hardcore turned off to this book if she had an optimistic attitude at the situation of literally being sold off to fulfill some destiny her father and whole universe shoved on her. WITHOUT asking her.
  • The Talk. Oh my. I’m so grateful I was spread that. And much less the night before the wedding? When did people EVER think that was the “right” time to talk about this thing. Like really?? And honestly who actually believes women have literally no clue what happens until they’re like 16? Like Shut the front door and walk out.
  • OK, now that we now of the one chance Nyx actually has to kill the Gentle Demon, what is it??
  • I’m enjoying the commentary on gender roles and why the description of the Gentle Demon so entrancing. I LOVE black hair. Maybe I’m just partial to him because I love with a capital L Beauty and the Beast.
  • Wai, she found the heart of water, did she do anything to nulify it?
  • IDK, making a knife out of a bed frame seems very out of character for Astraia…
  • I love how plainly and clearly the author has shown Nyx’s past experiences have shaped her character in the present. Like instead of having to tell me Nyx is acting or thinking a certain way because of her past experiences, I already know. Which is beautiful and fabulous writing.
  • Like apologizing with Shade is a prime example. Shade sees her as someone with a daunting task, who bears the pressure of their whole world, yet she sees herself as doomed to fail because that’s how her father and aunt have conditioned her to think.
  • I am so completely wary of Shade. Please let him not be evil I love this friendship/romance (?) thing they have going on. He’s the friend she always deserved but never had.
  • I love how she’s becoming her own person and making her own decisions. Also she recognizes her shortcomings and weaknesses.
  • Also mercy and compassion never were or are weakness. Although they are often seen that way (e.g. she feels weak because she couldn’t leave him to be literally cigarette burned to death)
  • Lol, what am I saying this is a Beauty and the Beast retelling. If Ignifex isn’t the villain, Shade is.
  • Ignifex’s humor is sassy af and 💯💯 and can I please get an amen?
  • Ignifex’s an absolute charmer when he wants to. That scene in the meadow *swoon* It makes me wonder if he mourned any of his other wives since after finding Nyx in the Heart of Fire he literally went berserk.
  • So Astraia is a frigid jerk. My opinion of her wasn’t super great because she’s ike, totally fine with doing whatever the literal heck she wants despite what is moral or like smart. Also listening skills were not added to her pot.
  • Also avenge their mother (Astraia is making this a reason to kill our beloved Ignifex [OFF WITH HER HEAD])? I feel like their father is honestly the real villain. #MakeArcadiaGreatAgain
  • WAIT? ASDKLEI wait. Shade and Ignifex are THE SAME PERSON??
  • OK, I’m upset by this turn of events (i.e. Nyx having to end up sacrificing everything when Belle didn’t have to) and Ignifex/Shade are tossed down into the box with the Children of Typhon.
  • This parallel universe where she is without Ignifex/Shade is he*cka depressing.
  • A ghost. Ignifex/Shade is a ghost. And I’m sobbing. Literally sobbing because Beatuy and the Beast is supposed to have a HAPPY ending.
  • 7.5/10. OK, so I want to address a couple things first. This is probably my favorite Beauty and the Beast retelling I’ve read so far plot wise. I think it was such a fun read and I love Nyx and she’s the best also Ignifex 4ever. I would spend eternity in a castle with him/like his because doors. However, I picked up this book because I was reading the reviews after I finished ACOTAR and one reviewer commented on how this book was so much better. And in some respects, I definitely agree with her. I think the plot was excellent and it didn’t have the problem like toxic relationships with the supposed MC love interest ACOTAR did. Also, Ignifex isn’t a complete like our Low-life High Lord Tamlin.
  • That being said, I think Maas’ writing is superior in that it has more fluency. Cruel Beauty and ACOTAR were both great reads, but the writing in ACOTAR was more compelling to me. Not to say Cruel Beauty didn’t have good writing. It really did.
