• This is the first book as part of my #ReadThemAllThon and I just earned my Earth badge from Viridian City! In under 5 hours thank you very much!

viridian

  • As a plug from the beginning, this is the first dystopic novel published after The Giver I think is really worth reading and is thought provoking. It’s dystopic at its finest, no action or glory or false pretenses. It’s the cold, hard truth. It’s what dystopics were meant to be all along, before the YA obsession.
  • Right off the bat, two things to notice about this society:
    1. All the names of women start with a lowercase letter instead of an uppercase letter. Rendering them obsolete and less than the men; similar to The Handmaid’s Tale where all the handmaids’ names are Of_____(Insert male the handmaid is associated with).
    2. The girls in freida’s group refer to themselves by their names, but the chastities refer to them by their number. freida’s number is #630.
  • So in the future freida is describing, China and India have merged? Is the what Chindia is supposed to be?
  • I’m confused by the race/ethnicity of the character: almond shaped eyes, Chindia yellow eyes, wavy hair?
  • I don’t appreciate the cover because for all this discussion on beauty and self worth and despite the diversity in the book, the dolls and obvious examples of perfect and beautiful are blonde haired, blue eyed, caucasian girls.
  • And now we have a description of the chastities, who… all have shaved heads… Like in an attempt to strip them of anything resembling a woman?
  • Beauty is a SUBJECTIVE measure. There is NO standard of beauty. Everyone can be beautiful.
  • Still struggling to discover what this society constitutes as beautiful other than thin and a non-thinker.
  • “Blondes tend to rank higher,” so in this future it’s still Caucasians who are considered more beautiful. Perfect.
  • This is like Mean Girls, but not funny and not feminist. At least not yet.
  • If I read “It’s for our own good” or anything akin to it again I’m going to pull my hair out.
  • O’Neill’s take on the end of the world is heavily based in science, I like that.
  • I’m seriously wondering what life is like outside the dome, because now we know there are women in a band, so is it after you’ve had enough sons you have more freedom to do what you want?
  • OK, what is Isabel’s status that chastity-ruth callers her Isabel and now #so-and-so?
  • I’m was hoping the #1 Inheritant wouldn’t be interested in the MC, it would have been more realistic.
  • Yes Darwin, you’re so intrigued by freida, yet you can’t remember if her name is freja or freida.
  • I’m actually extremely curious to know Darwin’s back story. How did he live in an environment/society like this and yet is corrupted in any (apparent) way at all? Also, as important as this story is, it’s still anti-feminist, although I guess that’s the point.
  • I can see the cracks in Darwin now, as freida and Darwin spend more time in the Heavenly Seventy box. He means well, but he doesn’t get it. He’s better than the better Inheritants, but he still has warped thinking and is controlling. A relief really as that is more realistic and I would expect a h*ck of a backstory explaining why he is different than all the other men  in this society.
  • Yup, all the evidence on Darwin’s phone. All these doors. He’s definitely a victim of this toxic society.
  • Freida drives me insane sometimes. She’s an unreliable narrator and the most morally ambiguous anti-hero I’ve ever read. She has a conscious, we hear her talking about how she feels bad for shaming the other girls; but she deliberately ignores that voice to gain popularity among the other girls. She’s hurt because of isabel’s distance, and tries to show an iron shell, but she mistreats isabel, abandons all sense of loyalty, and rejects isabel’s kindness when isabel tries to help her. I know you’re supposed to feel this way about her and she’s a victim of the system, but above all, I just feel depressed for her. Especially after megan manipulates freida into telling Darwin’s secret.
  • Megan. I can’t even decide is megan is more of a toxic relationship than the others. I mean they’re all horrid to each other. Megan is also conniving and manipulative. But has also been manipulated. But I also feel sorry for her, because I think she can’t help herself. She’s been too heavily brainwashed by the system to be able to think anything but her looks and rank matter. Even after the ranks are abolished, megan constantly refers back to them to lord over the other girls.
  • I like the ending, I won’t spoil this particular part because I think it’s that important to read the ending on your own. But suffice it to say the ending was significant.
  • 9/10. This story will stay with me forever. And like Asking For It, everyone on the planet should read this book. Will you be disgusted? Yes. Will you be repulsed and depressed? Yes. But you should still read it, because it’s that important.
