• I’m enjoying the writing right off the bat, just like I knew I would.
  • Penelope is like an POC, sometimes rule breaking Hermione.
  • OK, who is Lucy and how did she get up on the Mummers House? And I know the obvious answer is magic. But it can’t be that simple.
  • I think the magic system is both hilarious and intriguing and I LOVE the pop culture reference spells such as, “Doe a Dear,” “Up, up and away” and “These are not the droid you’re looking for.” (These are all spells they use throughout the book).
  • So I know endings are way less fun than beginnings so it should hurt him in some way, but it doesn’t seem like Simon cares about Agatha much in the romantic way. She is number ten on his list of favorite things at Watford.
  • Baz’s entrance is 💯💯.
  • Just a plain enjoyable fantasy book, I can easily see why this book would have become as big as Harry Potter in Cath’s world.
  • I don’t care what Simon says about Baz, he has a wicked sense of humor.
  • I like the pacing. It is very Harry Potter in the style of the story telling. AKA a big boss, but little enemies.challenges along the way with an emphasis on everyday life.
  • Ebb is now telling Simon about Nicky and of course Nicky and Nicodemus are the same thing but Simon is too thick to put it together until it’s practically spelled out for him.
  • *badump shhh*
  • Plus, Nicky WENT to the vampires.
  • OK, Bax and Simon are wondering why Nicodemus became a vampire, but Ebb already told Simon; to become immortal. Did he pay attention to her while she was talking.
  • Simon and Baz’s sudden relationship might seem rushed in anyone’s hands except for Rainbow Rowell.
  • Agatha and Penelope are a lot more like each other than I think either would like to admit, that scene on the way home from Baz’s house. They might as well have been the same person.
  • That’s actually the last thought I had before finishing the book because I actually was just completely enthralled by it. I’ve adored Rainbow Rowell after reading Fangirl (I didn’t like Elenor and Park a TON) and she did not disappoint. I liked the ending, I think the twist with Simon actually being the Chosen One, even though he didn’t feel like it and having to defeat the Humdrum by filing a hole was interesting. I also thought Lucy would have more of a role in the plot. But I liked how everything was revealed very slowly while still keeping this very mysterious sense and how even though the Mage was horrible, Simon still mourns for him.
  • 7/10. I’ll buy anything Rainbow Rowell writes.
  • So Simon Snow has two ~best~ friends, although that remains to be seen. He’s attained status as “The Chosen One” but not “The Boy Who Lived.” He goes to a school for magic and started when he was 11 and is graduating (?) when he’s 18. He’s also an orphan. The headmaster is his mentor and he’s really bad at magic. Yes, this is very Harry Potter esqe. But it actually more closely follows The Heroic Journey pattern than Harry Potter. An orphan who mentored by some old guy and is “The Chosen One.” For these reasons, I’ll willing to look past the similarities between Harry Potter and Carry on, though there are many. I think we all have a hard time seeing this not as Harry Potter because we have seen so much of Harry Potter in our lives. But we also have to remember; Harry Potter didn’t pilot The Heroic Journey. Now that I’ve finished it, I do see a lot of Harry Potter in the book, but I also think these issues had been tackled before Harry Potter. It’s not like Harry Potter came up with the concept of ideas such as prejudice against magical creates, orphans, magic/wands/spells/prophecy so call it what you will, but I don’t think Rainbow Rowell is guilty of plagiarism. It does read a lot though, like Fanfiction.
  • Correction, Simon only really had one best friend.

Did you like Carry On? What would be your favorite spell in Simon’s world? Tell me in the comments below!!

