• Starting out, I really have no idea what this book is about. That’s kind of refreshing, and I’m sure it will be a wonderful surprise!

• P.S. I’m really excited to use the title as a pun in this post.

• OK, Eli’s theory is going to a really uncomfortable place. Prediction: Eli and/or Victor (?) is going to kill people to see if they turn into EOs. Obviously, not experiment is perfect so at least a couple people will end up dying. Eli sets the stage, charms his way out of it and Victor ends up taking the fall and going to prison for 10 years.

• Victor and Eli’s relationship has a similar feel to Dumbledore and Grindelwald’s.

• Victor’s going first. He’s insane. They’re both insane.

• Oh and now Eli thinks it’s his turn. Just brilliant.

• OMIGOSH, I had to skip ahead and verify whether Eli was still alive or not. I mean even though it’s pretty obvious he has to survive for the rest of the book and the research. I was just so nervous for him.

• In this case: They. But SERIOUSLY.priorities

• Of all the things I expected in this book. IT WASN’T CRAZY FLIPPING THIS.

• It’s like the delusional action prone Frankenstein teamed up with Dumbledore and Grindelwald and then all of a sudden there it was. And Angie is just like Arianna and Elizabeth. Innocent bystanders who died for the cause.

• The grave. The First Chapter. They’re digging up Angie’s grave.

• Eli’s a religious fanatic. And I don’t know how to emphasize that so that it communicates how freaked out I am by it.

• I can’t decide who I’m rooting for. I mean, Eli hunting is that. And Victor is right, he’s so self righteous. This will be a never ending murdering rampage and I’m pretty sure given the the opportunity the population’s vote would result in an “inappropriate” decision. But it’s not like Victor is the image of perfection either. He doesn’t actually have feelings for any of the people Eli is hunting. He just wants Eli’s unbidden, unwavering attention. Children. *exasperated noise*

bubblegum.gif

• OMGOSH, this is just too much. They’re BOTH staying at the Esquire Hotel. How have they NOT run into each other yet???

• More than 100 pages left in the book and still 6 hours till midnight. WHAT ELSE IS GOING TO HAPPEN??

• I like how thoroughly the implications of what decides the person’s power after a NDE is explored. Like Dominic who wanted nothing but dark, and I imagine to be away from the place he was, and now he fades into darkness and appears in a new place.

• My joy at finding Mitch alive is infinite.

• I can’t imagine this will end with just Eli and/or Victor dead. But other than Serena, who’s going to die? Since Mitch and Sydney BOTH have escaped death.

• Wow. So Victor really was one step ahead, probably even two, of Eli. The implications and irony of Eli’s healing ability after he murders Victor. I’m not saying I think Victor is the hero, but I’m glad Eli isn’t out there anymore.

• I won’t deceive you, this book started off kind of slow. I didn’t like this book as much as I wanted to like it. I didn’t like the writing as much as I liked the writing in ADSOM/AGOS, but faow;iwkjndfso. Someone help me absorb this without combusting. I love the discussion of evil vs. not as evil and the modified version of Mary Shelly’s Frankenstein. And just like her book, it’s hard to decide who’s the doctor and who’s the monster. 5/10.

