• I can’t decide how I feel about her mom yet.

• I can’t figure out her relationship with her friends. It doesn’t even seem as if she even likes them.

• Emma’s kind of a terrible friend. And by kind of, I mean literally everything I’ve heard her say so far is dripping with destain and egotism.

• Gosh, “I never though you were into” WHAT One of your friends?? Emma’s so manipulative, least of all with Fitzy.

He stopped, fear freezing his features and I felt a grubby joy. “Never mind.” I smiled and took another slice of birthday cake.

What is wrong with her??

• This party. Her behavior. The boys around her. And the men. What are late-20-something year olds doing at a HIGH SCHOOL party. I mean maybe it’s different in Ireland, but IDK. And her FAMILY. “Mind the rug.” What the hell.

• I want to think these are all just fictional characters and no one is as terrible as the males who raped Emma or the girls whoa re shaming her for it. Sure she’s not saint, but no one “asks for it.”

• Emma’s friends are frustrating. Maybe it just seems obvious to me that she was on something because I know exactly what happened at the first party, but I feel like they should have taken more responsibility for her. I don’t mean to excuse the men for raping her. I don’t. I mean in the basic way, look out for people who you call “friends”

• Her father is infuriating.

• Every interaction she has, except with her brother, involves shaming. Her mom and dad aren’t even on her side. The instant she withdraws her case, everything goes back to “normal” in her family. Her father decides to be a “model husband” again and her mom miraculously starts baking. Like this situation isn’t even about her, it’s not about someone violating her or date/gang raping her. It’s about them and how their life will never be the same. Forget hers.

• As important and ground breaking as Speak with social media and a small town to add to the already extremely relevant conversation. Everyone needs to read this book. A book about what it feels like to be a victim of rape and be reminded of it at every second of the day. About the exhausting task of everyone knowing and disappointment when they ask all the questions that run through her head. “What are you wearing?” “What did you drink/take?” “Why were you at that kind of party?” Never, “Who did this?” “Has he/she been arrested?” “Are you OK?”

•7/10, I probably won’t read this again anytime soon, because similar to Speak. It’s something that sticks with you for a while. I did like the ending because I do believe victims have the right to choose whether they want to be involved in prosecution and that was explored briefly in the ending. I also feel like suicide/her overcoming the trial wouldn’t have made the same point as the ending O’Neill choose.

