• I have many feels about this book, so just know this post is also long.

• Wait, how did she end up on this little boat? Did her crew leave her or did someone commandeer her ship?

• I’m completely smitten with her, that coup though! Obviously Kell and Lila are both Antari because the chance there’s two Antari left in all the worlds and that they’ve met and fallen for each other is too great.

• Kell and Rhy remind me of Zuko and Sokka respectively, of course.

• I KNEW IT! When Ojka had the black veins. But is she made Antari or born? She has the eye, but who knows what Holland was busy doing over in Black London.

• This is what I don’t understand about the King and Queen of Red London. They treat Kell like an attendant, but then expect him to act like their son. What they perceived they gave him before somewhere akin to affection, but the desire to hold him for power is too great. He’s a tool to use.

• Well Ned, or someone, will be using that coin Kell left behind to get to Red London soon enough.

• Is it just me or is Kell a lot more frowney in this book vs Shades?

• HOLLAND. JUST CHILL BRO! Enough with the magic from Black London.

• I’v been thinking about doors and windows lately. The doors were techincally sealed between Londons, but even the best seals have leaks. I wonder if anyone has traveled to another London because he/she found a lead in the seal, and if Schwab will explore that.

• Also curious to know how much Lila has improved and at this point, what she can actually do with her magic.

• By now, I’ve realized how much of a wet blanket Kell is, but there’s something about when the two brothers when they engage in witty banter. He seems less like his dour self when he’s with Rhy; it’s easy to see why he saved him.

• So water and fire makes two elements for Lila.

• How do people keep secrets for years or their whole life??? Like Lila and Alucard? I can barely keep my secrets for 3 minutes!

• Come on Holland, you know this deal is worse than one with the devil, please be logical about this.

• So if Alucard is wondering why Lila has trust issues, he should just look at the last two pages when he tried to seduce her to get information, and I present Exhibit A.

• FLIPPING Alucard. I can’t decide if I like him or Kell better. Kell hasn’t noticed her eye.

• haha, the first time he’s gone to the market in weeks is when she’s there?

• Calla is the best ever.

• Actually when I read the summary, I assumed she would be the captain of the ship that comes back. But I guess 4 months is a little short to become a captain.

• If you’re trying to resist becoming a lap pup, you already are one. Silly Kell.

• Alucard is the most unapologetic flirt.

• Haven’t we met Jinnar before?

• And earth makes three.

• Are Alucard’s surprises ever going to cease? And all this time I though everyone thought of Alucard as a threat and a menace.

• K, I’m hecka confused/ How did Kell/Rhy pull off the Banner Night charade.

• Oh so they just had someone fill in. That seems like an extremely mortal, non-magical thing to do.

• Wonder what the King and Queen think of both Kell and Rhy’s new behavior. Or have they even noticed?

• OK, I’m feeling very anxious, before this first round, on behalf of Lila because I haven’t actually seen her use any magic to actually fight or defend herself.

• What was stopping Holland from returning to White London and leaving the Osaron in Black London?

• They finally meet and it has to be a part where they exchange 20 words!!!!! Maybe…

• Red London honestly has the worst luck with balls. At least this time we know it’s not Kell’s fault. And neither is it Rhy’s.

• Storming out? I’ve decided. It’s not Rhy who has a “flare for drama” Kell is made of pure drama.

• OK, so this is fine, there are wards on the castle and so Ojka can’t get in

• ALSDJFIOANWE;KLDIN. I don’t even know what to say!! GOODNESS. Kell can’t say he actually care about her, she doesn’t know the rules of magic and instead of explaining it to her he just… KEEEEEELLLLLLLLL. Temper temper. And I know, I’m one to talk since I’m loosing my mind over this, but still!

• For a second I thought Kell was going to give in and then I rejoiced when he didn’t, but NOW look where they are. Kell is tied up in White London and the only consolation we have to show for it is that Lila will be able to go and save his sorry-*ss. And I mean that “sorry” in the truest sense of the word. Yes, he’s definitely sorry and WHY IS FEB 2017 so far away!!!

• 8/10 would totally read again! This is also going on my list of books to buy for my personal library. So much more tension in this book and I cherish both of them for having two very different tones. I love A Gathering of Shadows for different reasons than ADSOM of course.

 

