• In case you don’t know, the acronym stands for “A Court of Thorns and Roses” which is way too long to tweet btw because the title itself takes up like a quarter of your characters!

• K, this post is about to be h*lla long because the book is like 400 pages. Just so ya know!

• I’m usually not sold on a book just by it’s title, but this one completely did it for me. From the moment I heard of it, before I read all the people’s reviews and excitement, the title is what interested me the most. I mean how many books can pull off a 6 word title like that??

• Her sisters. MAN. They’re the worst. Seriously. I mean, I can sympathize with Elaine, but seriously. Please for all of us, GET A GRIP.

• It’s like a Cinderella/Beauty and the Beast Mashup.

• I want more than anything to believe her father said, “Don’t come back,” out of love and he didn’t really mean it. But IDK (who knows really?), her whole family is cracked.

• Wait, how does she know Tamlin’s a High Fae? Did I miss something? She seemed so apprehensive about who he was until he changed, is there some mark of High Fae we don’t know about?

• WAIT. It’s The original Beauty and the Beast story! I think it’s called Belle? See how thoroughly Disney has brainwashed us?! I didn’t even think about it as the original until I had some serious free time to ponder. IDK though. Disney forever.

• The Bogge is literally the stuff of my nightmares.

• Did she honestly think Tam wouldn’t notice she went out with Lucien? Also, all I can think of is that Lucien is going to end up evil because his name sounds like Lucifer. I guess that’s a rude and judgey but ¯\_(ツ)_/¯.

• I’m getting really mixed signals about her relationship with her dad. She seems to resent him, mostly because he’s portrayed as a coward (and kind of is), all the interactions we have at first show him weak and helpless. But then she always talks about escaping and her sisters marrying and leaving her and her father in peace (and her to paint)?

• The Suriel is surreal. *badump-tshhhhhh*

• OMGosh, she’s going to escape the Suriel, only to get eaten by the… Selkie? Aren’t they the ones that sing you under the water then eat you? THAT’S WHAT SHE KEEPS SEEING IN THE WESTERN WOODS!

• The Suriel’s going to remember this trap and her and come back for her at a later time in the book, OR THE SERIES. Why do characters never cover up there faces!! *throws hands in the air*

• Yeah you should bristle at that line because you’re not “his human woman,” because that would imply he owns you. Which he doesn’t, the treaty owns you. GET IT GIRL.

• That hallway scene tho *fans self*

• Finally getting to the R-Mance!

• Also reading from her POV under the influence of faerie wine was one of the most amusing things in this whole book.

• Okay, I feel like Lucien’s insult was really confusing bc how can Rhysand be the High Lord of Prythian and then be “her whore”?

• OK, just so everyone is clear. HAVING SEX DOESN’T EQUAL LOVE. I mean, I do believe he loves her, but having sex isn’t one of the signs he loves her.

• I knew it. I knew someone would pay for her giving Rhysand the name “Beddor” instead of her own. Her instincts were right to give a false name. At first I assumed it was a fake name, and then I was wondering what would happen when Rhysand figured it out. But now I’m thinking it would have been much better had she given a fake name, then he would have a harder time finding her.

• Too bad Tamlin didn’t catch a Suriel and let it tell Feyre everything. That would have been a way around the loophole.

• OH OH OH, and Lucien is quite spiteful, but he also tried to give Feyre every bit of information about the curse that he could.

• Really confused at how she got to Under the Mountain so quickly. I mean if Tamlin’s manor is in the very south and then Under the Mountain is in the north. She crossed to the mouth of the cave on a days journey and then walked with the Attor for who knows how long, that’s been three days. Like walking 75 miles at the minimum. So I’m confused how she’s already here. Will someone explain the magic to me?

• Well she’s going to solve the riddle then because I don’t think there’s enough time to read about the three tasks with roughly 100 pages left. What’s going to be in the second book then??

• My prediction is: Power. Yes, I believe it fits with all the lines; obviously they’re mostly metaphors, but I think they all fit. I’m 99 percent confident. That would have been my first guess.

• Ah. Now Rhysand’s trade. That’s the second book.

• Well obviously I was wrong and we are going to witness three events. This first one is what I would imagine.

• Lentils, haha. I doubt anyone missed that reference. This book might prove to be a mashup yet.

• OK, so the second task is a little different.

• I actually really like Rhysand as I’ve read more and more about him. I could completely read a spin off about him. He’s intriguing.

• Wow. That’s a third task. Well OK then. I’m glad she was able to figure out how to stab Tamlin and not kill him.

• I feel like giving her eternal life was kind of like an ex machina thing because we don’t hear anything about mortals receiving eternal life ever in previous books. But to be fair there are probably few mortals who have ventured and stayed in the faerie land so that would make the probability of a mortal earning eternal life relatively small. Anyway. A happy ending is a happy ending and now we get to read a second book. HOLLA!!

• 7/10. A fun read, for sure. Not my absolute favorite, but still a solid good quality, well thought out and well written book. I would totally read it again; I love Beauty and the Beast and she’s one of my favorite Disney Princesses.

• Can’t wait to read the second in the series! I’m desperately trying to resist reading all of the summary so I can at least guess at what’s going down. But I also don’t at the same time. I love literary surprises.

• Another thing I love with all my heart about this book is the focus on the relationships! YES. I mean, yeah I expected a little more time with the tasks. But now that I’m reflecting, I’m totally on board. Building the relationships/learning about the characters absorbed more than 85 percent of the book and I LOVE IT SO MUCH. I favor Battle Royal over Hunger Games ANY DAY purely for that reason.

