• I didn’t expect this to be a historical fiction book. Definitely expected more of a contemporary book.

• Already extremely pleased with the writing. It’s been worth the wait.

• “In times of conflict, war, poverty or religious fundamentalism, women and children are the first and most numerous victims.” -Isabel Allende.

• When I first picked up this book, I assumed “swallow” was a used to suggest mystery and ambiguity. But it literally just meant swallows. As in birds. I feel rather foolish.

• I mean the cover does have a bird on it. I guess that was my unobservant side thinking earlier.

• Erosion. That’s so sad. The benefit of reading about a child is we understand so much more about what’s going on, in times like this. It makes the book so interesting; in the style of The Book Thief.

• I’m getting a little mixed up regarding the timeline. Is a lot of time passing? Is this the author’s way of saying two years have passed so now it’s 1941?

• So he’s German? And he’s Jewish? From the Wolf/Bear analogy that’s what I gathered… This analogy is brilliant, I don’t mean any offense by that. I just mean it’s very well thought out and put together, as in the author found a way to fit everything he is trying to express into a working functional analogy.

• So it is 1941!

• Endangered species. So is he protecting himself, or Anna? Or both of them?

• I knew he would go and find Reb Hirschl.

• Wow. So it’s 1943 now. Winter of 1943. Closer to 1944? Or have they just passed into 1943? So she’ll 11 now.

• Please don’t let this man rape her. Please say this isn’t going to happen to her.

• An “instrument of death” as in he helped with the development and conception of something the Nazis used before he realized what happened?

• Wow. First, second and third person writing in this book.

• I have this fantasy where the war ends and Anna and the Swallow Man go back to Anna’s town in Poland and live there. But I don’t know if there’s enough of the book left for that to happen.

• Who knows how this turn of events could have happened.

• It isn’t hard to believe the exploitation people practice when they sense desperation.

• There wasn’t enough book.

• So she’s going to Sweden then? Neutrality. I understand.

• I won’t lie. I’m upset. There’s no conclusion. I feel a void and lack of a proper ending. I feel incomplete. Like I followed Anna and the Swallow Man along this whole journey only to be left confused and with too many mysteries. To say I’m upset is an understatement. I have so many questions left, but I imagine that’s how Anna feels too. And maybe that’s how the author wanted you to feel.

• I loved: the art, particularly the cover; the writing; the thoughtfulness and clear effort put into the book, like each sentence was written meticulously.

• I feel like I didn’t write as much about this book because of the aura I felt from the book. Yes I believe that’s a thing. This post is much shorter than most. 8/10, wouldn’t read again. But not because I didn’t like it. I loved it. I just don’t know if I can be put through it again without feeling the same things. I don’t want to be affected by the Law of Diminishing Returns.

