• I just need to note the cover. I love watercolor. Not doing, just appreciating.

• This is going to be like Stranger Than Fiction with Will Ferrell!

• When the Elder Patels started talking, I admit, I had to look back because I was confused. Because didn’t the main character’s parents separate??

• Three cheers for Scott Westerfeld not naming the race, name, or any revealing factor about the terrorists. Honestly, it’s hurtful, perpetuates fear and prejudice, and is not relevant to the story.

• Am I reading the edited or unedited version of this? How does Lizzie’s life change when she revises things? Does she naturally start thinking different ways or what if she tries to fight it? Then does it open an alternate reality where there’s the original Lizzie and the one Darcy is still writing? Also how are they going to interact? Is Darcy going to write Lizzie going to New York and then see her outside a coffee shop or something??? What if she uses her real surroundings for inspiration and then Lizzie *goes* there. Also, if she’s writing this in her world, then wouldn’t that mean her Afterworld truly exists?

• My mind is having a hard time understanding and conceptualizing this. It’s like calculus.

• “Special” that line reminds me of the last line of Specials where whats-her-name best friend/bitter friend(?) says, “Something something face it, Tally-wa, you’re special now.”

• I can’t tell if Yamaraj is supposed to be a good guy being good or a “good” guy being bad.

• I fear her spending as well. I’m with her Aunt.

• There’s ALWAYS something creepy. Never doubt that once you’ve escaped “this world” everything is just normal now. FINE. I won’t!

• This is nothing like Stranger than Fiction.

• I’ve MISSED his writing. It’s great.

• What if Yamaraj is so warm and so knowledgable because he actually DOES hunt ghosts?

• Those girls are absolutely terrifying.

• BOOKCEPTION. There’s so many books in this book. No wonder it’s so long.

• Please tell me Yama is NOT the bad guy. I do not want to deal with that.

• But what a plot twist if he is! He probably he isn’t because his sister. But what if she’s in on it too!

• So we’re reading the edited version then. Right?

• A GOOD DEATH GOD OR A BAD DEATH GOD?

• Is she really going to kill him? That escalated quickly.

• So she did use “bungalow” how cute!

• I can’t stop reading, but I need to. It’s like trying not to look at the 5 girls. I’m going to have nightmares for sure tonight.

• So much tension. SOS, please just leave this house.

• Ew, why is she with the creepy guy from under her bed? He reminds me of a literal slime ball.

• This is a little late, I’ll admit. But… I didn’t realize this was going to be focused on Darcy publishing. I thought she’d be writing it. It’s interesting. Also I think Darcy is slipping a little.

• I hate to say this, but my attention is wavering. It’s interesting, but the writing is no longer exciting, and I’m becoming frustrated with Lizzie. PLEASE DON’T HATE ME.

• Okay, now we’re moving a bit more! I was expecting a little more interweaving of stories. I don’t know where this is going. OK, I’ll go 50 more pages (I’m currently on page 438). Also, I knew she would end up killing him!

• I’m in again! My interest is captured. I was reflecting on why I got bored so fast and I decided I figured it out. Most of the time I’m reading about Darcy, I’m be told what is happening, instead of observing it for myself. The importance of showing not telling strikes again!

• *Barf* The man is a sicko.

• But seriously, there’s no feelings or emotional repercussions for what happened? Or is the theory she’s far to involved in the Afterworld to feel any of that. I don’t buy it.

• Some subtle, weak, but still living discussion right here. Is you take away an experience that defines someone so completely like Mindy’s, what’s left?

• Writer’s block, ain’t it the best?

• CRAP! Why did this have to happen with, crap, the patchwork guy doesn’t even have a name! Was that intentional?

• The “name” thing was never really explained. I guess if you know someone’s name then you can follow/find him or her? This would have been a really great time to tell us how it works to us since it’s like essential to the plot.

• Wait, real body?? I don’t understand.

• You forgot he MIGHT be in Colorado? That was the first thing I was worried about!

• Yama is too perfect. There’s no real consequences for her actions. She’s forgiven for practically everything.

• OK, fine. I guess not everything. But pretty much everything!

• Knew it’d work out with Imogen. But I kind of like that; it makes sense.

• Overall, not my favorite. It was an alright read, but middle parts were a little slow and I don’t even know why. It pains me because I loved the Uglies series so much but 3/10 *perpetual sobbing*. I wish I could have gotten into this book; like the way Lizzie get’s into the flipside.

 

