• I’ve waited so long for this moment! I can’t wait!

• Knowledge is power. I respect the Empire’s tactics.

• How Laia acts in order to survive is, I feel, how most people would. She will most definitely suffer from PTSD, I hope that’s explored through the book and not just at the end.

• I want to know more about her immediate family. Sister a rebel? Mother, definitely.

• Interesting, lots of structure on this world right off the bat. I love it.

• Oh dang. So I’m really curious how the two stories are going to intertwine.

• OK, fair point. They probably knew your mother. Question is what are they going to do differently with you when they know that information.

• Oh good, an explanation for why he was with Tribesmen and then all of a sudden at Blackcliff.

• Oh, I thought she was supposed to be the ember (roll credits). What is her role now?

• Wait, I guess they both could be embers…

• So they’ll meet at Blackcliff? Assuming the trials are also there??

• I hate to say this, but she really does act a bit… sometimes. In the broken way, like she’s not entirely there because of PTSD. I like that it’s clear her character has been shaped by the way she’s lived her whole life. It’s so well done. *Slow clap*

• At least she didn’t say she thought she was plain.

• So Elias and Hel make it back. That means the twins lose. So how is Elias going to escape from the empire now???

• Her specifically, does he recognize her as related to Darin?

• Obviously, I miscalculated. They have to win the rest of the challenges to win the whole thing. No option. Or catch the Farrar’s cheating.

• Obviously the Empire is capital “H” horrible, The Resistance isn’t much better. My attitude explains why I don’t understand. I’ve never been in a rebellion.

• I knew it was him. Tribesman; because he was raised as one.

• Also, interestingly it wasn’t PTSD, it was literal shadows. I can’t remember their names right now.

• I’ve seen tons of heroines “oblivious” to their beauty. And it kind of annoys me, because here’s the girl who think she’s plain, boring, ordinary. Yet 5 billion guys are throwing themselves at her. With Laia, there has never been any thought of what she looks like (that I remember). She’s much too worried about saving her brother. I don’t care what she biologically looks like, I’m just glad her brother occupies 98 percent of her thoughts. I feel like she’s much more realistic. When you’re trying to survive or have high amounts of stress, there’s no time to think of what you look like.

• You’ve been in proximity of him before, and you didn’t have this reaction before. And this time he had a mask on.

• Obviously she was important, but in the steel shop. Never would have guessed that.

• There’s so much tension is this book I can’t think. If I stop I feel all jittery, but IDK if I can stand to keep readinggggg.

• So they him expect to rape her? Is this supposed to be his “prize?”

tumblr_lu27lnbfcd1qgy3pb

• Are they going to go AWOL together???

• I’m furious with Elias for being so self-righteous, and then playing around with two girls. I’m incredulous at Hel. Brainwashed to the max, girlfriend.

• Laia’s the 4th Trial.

• Wow, Resistance. I never liked them. I like Keenan more, but I also like Elias, possibly because I read form his POV. I have serious issues with this topic in books honestly. Like sex and passion is all that. But it’s also very circumstantial. It’s frustrating because people think you can’t love someone or you love someone less if you can’t have sex with them. It perpetuates the idea of lust actually being love. Not ragging on Tahir specifically, just movies/books in general.

• OK, but HOW IS HE GOING TO LIVE. He’s not going to die is he?

• Ok, I’m so glad that even in this world of magic, it’s common knowledge they use to win this battle. Also HE’S FLIPPING ALIVE!!!

• The tension. I knew they’re dealing with worse, but I honestly don’t know how I survived it. 8/10, would probably read again! Only so much tension I can take in one lifetime.

 

