• The only place harder to be different than Mormonville would probably have to be the Deep South

• Her mom is cracked.

• Hell YES. I had my doubts about my first sentence with Bo. But he just earned some

• I really was hoping he wasn’t just using her. I was really hoping so badly. WHY DO ALL BOYS TURN OUT TO BE DOUCHES?

• I guess this is what they call “friends with benefits” in the mildest kind of way. I do not want to know what the end of this is.

• Lord in Heaven, please let this one be different. He certainly has class.

• I’m so happy she quit.

• Really with Will on the whole pageant queen thing. I’m completely against them. It doesn’t matter what real skills you have if you can twirl, not eat and win the genetic lottery; basically, brain cells have nothing to do with the whole affair.

• I’m so glad she kicked him in the balls. Talk about hitting the nail on the head.

• I don’t even know what to say about her mom, but El is way too naivë, too ditzy, too uncomfortable with uncomfortable things. I mean I don’t think she can’t enter the pageant, but she sure shows a lack of understanding. So let’s just talk about this line she says, “I’m done wasting my time.” As if any of her time spent as Will’s friend is “wasted.” What a defective way to look at a person.

• I knew I liked Mitch.

• Blue bonnets, as in a flower? IDK about you, but I definitely thought it was named after a bonnet that was blue.

• The more I think about El, the poorer opinion I have of her. There’s a big difference between pretending something and absolutely denying something, when it’s not true. It’s fine if you are actually hurt, but this all “high and mighty” thing you have going about not needing Will is quite juvenile. If she isn’t denying or pretending she doesn’t care about this fight then she honestly has no clue whatsoever how to be a friend.

• OK, crying about not fitting into a dress you wore some 35-40 some years ago is the most impotent thing I’ve ever heard.

• I really hate situations like this, where there’s two boys and one is so obviously the better option but she doesn’t feel the “spark” for one. Plus moving back to Harpy’s is gonna cause some drama-rama thing with Mitch and Bo if he keeps picking her up like that.

• Actually saying the words “slumber party” makes me want to cringe, but for all intents and purposes, they’re my favorite thing in the entire world.

• It was not as bad reading the Mitch-Bo thing as I thought it would be. Although I was quite fond of Mitch. A gentleman through and through.

• If I was going to define loyalty, I would say it’s caring more about the other person’s feelings, and wanting to make up, than being right. I love that Will apologized and then El apologized, and the both talked about it. That’s loyalty.

• I’m so relieved it wasn’t a “picture-perfect” ending. I’m so happy about that.

• Moral: Be yourself, and don’t be sorry. I think we all can work on that.

• 7/10, would read again!

 

