Lately my patience has been tested a lot, and I know I haven’t been as kind as I should be.

I haven’t given people the benefit of the doubt as much as I should.

For me, it’s frustrating and extremely hard being patient with someone when it seems like they’re trying to make things harder for themselves, or if they’re trying to give the appearance of doing large amounts of work on their own.

And no matter how many times I offer to help, or hint that if they don’t mind, I possibly could help them, they always reject my offers.

Since I’ve been working in close proximity with many people with deadlines and in a stressful environment I’ve realized, it’s OK to ask for help. It’s OK if you can’t do everything yourself.

And maybe I’ve forgotten that we all learn at different stages.

I’ve also realized that more often than not, subconsciously or consciously, we try to do things on our own.

But I’ve also realized that when that person rejects my offer Heavenly Father probably feels the same way I do when I struggle on my own.

In our Western culture, everything is supposed to be done independently. We’re supposed to live on our own and use our own skills and knowledge to achieve our own goals.

And I know that if I pray and ask for help, I can receive strength and grace and in the end, I’ll be OK.

But I seldom remember to ask for specific blessings in my prayers.

It’s hard to ask for help. It’s hard to admit we aren’t as strong as we’d like to think.

But that is why we’re on earth. It’s so we can understand when we need to ask for help and then become stronger as we overcome challenges.

As we become stronger, we also become more humble. We become more what our Heavenly Father wants us to be.

And if He can wait weeks on end for me to ask for a blessing He already wanted to give me, maybe I can have just a little more patience with those around me.

