Untitled-3
When I need a break from the world, I read.

And I know it sounds crazy and counterproductive and a little cowardly; escape your problems to read about someone else’s.

But when I read, I don’t read for entertainment. I read to learn something.

I read about people who may or may not exist, problems I may or may not ever have and emotions I may or may not ever feel.

The characters I read about always go through much harder challenges than I myself have ever gone through or that I probably will ever go through.

As we read, we experience all the situations and, for the most part, experience all the emotions with them too.

And as they change, we do too.

And somewhere in between, we learn to pick ourselves up, just like them.

And I know the fictional characters I read about aren’t actually real, but they represent real people in real situations.

And if they can overcome their problems, I’m sure I can as well.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “On the Edge.”

