When I was in China, I went to a park with a few of my friends. We were casually looking around when my friend suddenly decided to pose for a picture.

After posing for the picture, a little boy suddenly walked by, and then he copied exactly what my friend did. That was one of the only times I didn’t have to think before thinking about what I wanted to write.

At the time, it was so comical to me. The Chinese are excellent copycats and lately, it seems they try more and more to look like us.

The girls use bleaching cream and carry umbrellas to keep their skin pale.

I was recently shopping with a friend and she said she never understood why people didn’t like when they wore or bought the same thing because “imitation is the highest form of a compliment.”

In the Western culture, we’re taught to stand out; to shine the brightest.

But it’s quite interesting because as humans, we are programmed to conform to a group. An interesting paradox.

It tells me that we don’t have to conform to our culture.

And it helps remind me that there’s nothing wrong with rebelling against your culture and doing what makes you happy.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Blogger in a Strange Land.”

