Yesterday was Earth Day, which I love. Because who doesn’t love the Earth?

I feel like it’s appropriate to always remind members of the church about our role with the Earth’s health. Because so many of us seem to forget.

In fact, this year, the LDS church posted for Earth Day.

“Approaches to the environment must be prudent, realistic, balanced and consistent with the needs of the earth and of current and future generations, rather than pursuing the immediate vindication of personal desires or avowed rights. The earth and all life upon it are much more than items to be consumed or conserved.”

I completely agree with this. We should be conservative when using the precious resources available with this earth.

As an environmentalist, that’s what I think we should aim for.

There are a lot of negative connotations that come with the word environmentalist.

I think most people hear that word and think of “bioterrorism” and of people who chain themselves to trees so they won’t be chopped down.

There will always be extremes, but there are a lot of good things about being an environmentalist.

Including, but not limited to reusing, reducing and recycling. I have less garbage because I recycle and compost. My water bill is lower because I take shorter showers.

If you look around, you’ll find there are a million ways that recycling helps not only the earth, but you personally.

And just because the “earth is full” does not mean we should be an ever consuming machine.

I am proud to be an environmentalist.

