Today, the Salt Lake Tribune tweeted about an event taking place at the Salt Lake City Library.

I’m not the biggest fan of the Salt Lake Tribune, but I think this is a great idea.

While responses could have been overwhelmingly bitter and hateful, it expressed concerns about real issues and the need to change.

Those who have tweeted using the hashtag have expressed frustration with stereotypes and culture issues in the church that don’t reflect doctrine, and need to change. In fact, most of the posts centered around family and gender stereotypes.

In society, there are so many expectations for all of us. As I am surrounded by a large population of Mormons, I feel those expectations.

I hear them every time I interact with those around me I frequently hear women tell me they feel pressured to have children too many, too quickly, too early.

As women, bringing children into the world is one of our divine destinies. We were meant to have children. But that’s not the only thing we were destined to do.

Women are not confined to bearing children and then dying. That is not part of the plan.

We were also destined to learn, teach and make a difference in the world.

Whether that is the world at large, the community or just our family.

But we were meant for more than bearing children, especially because not all of us get to be mothers.

Betty Friedan said it best when she said, “Who knows what women can be when they are finally free to become themselves? Who knows what women’s intelligence will contribute when it can be nourished without denying love?”

